Frank Herbert: The order of publication of all his novels

22 February 2024
Frank Herbert, an American science fiction author, stands as a towering figure in the landscape of speculative fiction, renowned primarily for his groundbreaking Dune series. Born on October 8, 1920, in Tacoma, Washington, Herbert embarked on a literary career that would eventually redefine the genre's boundaries, blending intricate plots, complex characters, and a deep philosophical underpinning. His journey as a writer began in the world of journalism, but it was in the realm of fiction that he found his true calling. 

The publication of "Dune" in 1965 catapulted Herbert into the limelight, earning him the Hugo and Nebula Awards and establishing the novel as a cornerstone of science fiction literature. Beyond "Dune," Herbert's bibliography encompasses a wide array of novels, short stories, and series that explore themes of ecology, religion, and power dynamics, demonstrating his versatility and depth as a writer.

The thematic richness of Herbert's work is unparalleled, weaving together ecological science, the intricacies of political and religious systems, and the exploration of human consciousness. "Dune" itself is emblematic of this, set against the backdrop of a desert planet where water is more precious than gold, and the spice melange becomes the fulcrum of intergalactic politics and power struggles. 

Herbert's ability to create worlds that are at once entirely alien and deeply reflective of human nature speaks to his genius. His narratives often delve into the consequences of humanity's reach for power, the manipulation of ecological systems, and the quest for spiritual enlightenment. 

Through his characters, Herbert explores the complexity of human motivations and relationships, set within societies that mirror our own in their diversity, conflicts, and aspirations. His work not only entertains but also prompts profound reflection on our place in the universe and the ethical dimensions of our actions.

Frank Herbert The order of publication of all his novels

Here's the bibliography of Herbert, in order of publication. 

  • Direct Descent (Astounding, December 1954; First edition: Ace Books, 1980)
  • The Dragon in the Sea (Astounding, November 1955 – January 1956; First edition: Doubleday, 1956)
  • "A Matter of Traces" (1958; collected in Eye)
  • The Godmakers (Astounding/Fantastic, 1958-1960; First edition: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1972)
  • Dune (Analog, December 1963 – February 1964, January – May 1965; First edition: Chilton Books, 1965)
  • The Green Brain (Amazing, March 1965; First edition: Ace, 1966)
  • Destination: Void (Galaxy, August 1965; First edition: Berkeley, 1966)
  • The Eyes of Heisenberg (Galaxy, June – August 1966; First edition: Berkeley, 1966)
  • The Heaven Makers (Amazing, April – June 1967; First edition: Avon, 1968)
  • The Santaroga Barrier (Amazing, October 1967 – February 1968; First edition: Berkeley, 1968)
  • Dune Messiah (Galaxy, July – November 1969; First edition: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1969)
  • Whipping Star (Worlds of If, January – April 1970; First edition: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1970)
  • Soul Catcher (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1972)
  • Hellstrom's Hive (Galaxy, November 1972 – March 1973; First edition: Doubleday, 1973)
  • The Dosadi Experiment (Galaxy, May – August 1977; First edition: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1977)
  • Children of Dune (Analog, January – April 1976; First edition: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1976)
  • The Jesus Incident (with Bill Ransom) (Analog, February 1979; G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1979)
  • The Lazarus Effect (with Bill Ransom) (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1983)
  • God Emperor of Dune (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1981)
  • Heretics of Dune (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1984)
  • Chapterhouse: Dune (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1985)
  • The White Plague (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1982)
  • The Ascension Factor (with Bill Ransom) (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1988)
  • Man of Two Worlds (with Brian Herbert) (G.P. Putnam's Sons, 1986)

List of Frank Herbert's novels in publication release order.

Posthumous Publications
  • High-Opp (WordFire Press, 2012)
  • Angels' Fall (WordFire Press, 2013)
  • A Game of Authors (WordFire Press, 2013)
  • A Thorn in the Bush (WordFire Press, 2014)

Frank Herbert's literary contributions extend far beyond the confines of the Dune universe, exploring themes of human nature, power, and the environment across a myriad of speculative fiction landscapes.

Each entry in his bibliographic timeline reveals a facet of his genius, offering readers a comprehensive view of his evolution as a writer and thinker. 

Through this ordered list, one can trace the development of Herbert's thematic interests and narrative techniques, providing a roadmap for exploring his diverse and influential body of work.


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.

About the author Jimmy Jangles

My name is Jimmy Jangles, the founder of The Astromech. I have always been fascinated by the world of science fiction, especially the Star Wars universe, and I created this website to share my love for it with fellow fans.

At The Astromech, you can expect to find a variety of articles, reviews, and analysis related to science fiction, including books, movies, TV, and games.
From exploring the latest news and theories to discussing the classics, I aim to provide entertaining and informative content for all fans of the genre.

Whether you are a die-hard Star Trek fan or simply curious about the world of science fiction, The Astromech has something for everyone. So, sit back, relax, and join me on this journey through the stars!
Back to Top