Profile: Philip Reeve author of Mortal Engines and Railhead

24 April 2023

Philip Reeve is an award-winning British author, best known for his Mortal Engines series, which has gained worldwide recognition and acclaim. He was born on February 28, 1966, in Brighton, England.

Reeve grew up in Devon, England, and studied illustration at Camberwell College of Arts in London. He initially worked as an illustrator and freelance journalist before turning his hand to writing full-time. Reeve started his writing career with the highly acclaimed book, Mortal Engines, which was published in 2001.

philip reeve author

The Mortal Engines quartet is set in a post-apocalyptic world where cities have become mobile and roam the earth, devouring each other for resources. The series has won numerous awards, including the Nestle Children's Book Prize, the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, and the Los Angeles Times Book Award, and has been translated into over thirty languages.

Mortal Engines was adapted into a movie by award-winning filmmaker Peter Jackson, who is best known for his work on The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit trilogies. 

Jackson and his production company, Wingnut Films, optioned the rights to the book in 2009 and worked closely with author Philip Reeve to bring the world of Mortal Engines to life on the big screen. The movie was released in 2018 and received mixed reviews but was praised for its stunning visual effects and production design.

Reeve also wrote the Fever Crumb prequel trilogy to Mortal Engines.

Reeve has also written several other books, including the Larklight trilogy, which is a Victorian space adventure, and the Railhead trilogy, a science fiction series set in a universe connected by a vast network of railways.

Reeve's writing has been praised for its imaginative world-building, strong characters, and compelling storytelling. His books often tackle complex themes, including the environment, politics, and social issues, making them appealing to both young and adult readers.

In addition to his writing, Reeve is also a keen sketch artist. He currently lives in Dartmoor, Devon, with his wife and son. His twitterfeed is great!

Here is a list of books by Philip Reeve in order of release:

1. Mortal Engines (2001)

2. Mortal Engines: Predator's Gold (2003)

3. Mortal Engines: Infernal Devices (2005)

4. Mortal Engines: A Darkling Plain (2006)

5. Here Lies Arthur (2007)

6. No Such Thing as Dragons (2009)

7. Fever Crumb (2009)

8. Goblins (2012)

9. A Web of Air (2011)

10. Scrivener's Moon (2012)

11. Larklight (2006)

12. Starcross (2007)

13. Mothstorm (2008)

14. Railhead (2015)

15. Black Light Express (2016)

16. Station Zero (2018)

17. Night Flights (2018)

18. The Secret of Black Rock (2018)

19. The Legend of Kevin (2018)

20. The Broken King (2020)

21. The Dark Archer (2021)

It's worth noting that some of Reeve's books, such as Here Lies Arthur and the Railhead trilogy, are aimed at slightly older readers than the Mortal Engines series.


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.

About the author Jimmy Jangles

My name is Jimmy Jangles, the founder of The Astromech. I have always been fascinated by the world of science fiction, especially the Star Wars universe, and I created this website to share my love for it with fellow fans.

At The Astromech, you can expect to find a variety of articles, reviews, and analysis related to science fiction, including books, movies, TV, and games.
From exploring the latest news and theories to discussing the classics, I aim to provide entertaining and informative content for all fans of the genre.

Whether you are a die-hard Star Trek fan or simply curious about the world of science fiction, The Astromech has something for everyone. So, sit back, relax, and join me on this journey through the stars!
Back to Top