Battlestar Galactica: A Viewing Guide

23 April 2023
Ronald D. Moore's Battlestar Galactica is an epic science fiction television series that has left an indelible mark on the genre. The show premiered in 2004 and ran for four seasons, captivating audiences with its gripping storyline, complex characters, and stunning visual effects.

Set in a distant star system, the show follows the last surviving humans as they flee from their homeworlds after being attacked by the robotic Cylons. Led by Admiral William Adama (played by the iconic Edward James Olmos) and President Laura Roslin (played by Mary McDonnell, The Fall of the House of Usher), the humans are forced to embark on a desperate journey to find a new home while being pursued relentlessly by the Cylons.

The show made a star of Katee Sackhoff as Kara 'Starbuck' Thrace:

katee sackhoff bicyle riding bikini promo

One of the things that sets Battlestar Galactica apart from other sci-fi shows is its focus on character development. The series features a diverse cast of characters, each with their own flaws, strengths, and motivations. The show explores their personal relationships, their struggles, and their ethical dilemmas in a way that is both compelling and relatable.

Another aspect that sets the show apart is its willingness to tackle complex themes and issues. Battlestar Galactica explores topics such as the nature of humanity, the dangers of artificial intelligence, the ethics of war, and the role of religion in society. The show raises thought-provoking questions and challenges viewers to consider their own beliefs and values.

Moore is a prolific writer and outside of the main season found time to prepare webisodes and two TV movie length features. 

Here's the best viewing order for the Battlestar Galactica series:

  1. Battlestar Galactica: Oiriginal Mini-Series (2003)
  2. Battlestar Galactica: Season 1 (2004)
  3. Battlestar Galactica: Season 2 (2005-2006)
  4. Battlestar Galactica: Razor (2007) - This movie tells the story of the Pegasus and should be watched after Season 2 and before Season 3. Be warned, it does have some hints of what happens in season 4 near the end...
  5. Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 (2006-2007)
  6. Battlestar Galactica: Razor Flashbacks (2007) - These webisodes can be watched after Razor or after Season 3.
  7. Battlestar Galactica: The Resistance (2006) - These webisodes can be watched after Season 2 or 3.
  8. Battlestar Galactica: Season 4, Part 1 (2008)
  9. Battlestar Galactica: The Face of the Enemy (2008-2009) - These webisodes should be watched during Season 4, but can be skipped.
  10. Battlestar Galactica: Season 4, Part 2 (2009)
  11. Battlestar Galactica: The Plan (2010) - This movie should be watched after Season 4.


Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.

About the author Jimmy Jangles

My name is Jimmy Jangles, the founder of The Astromech. I have always been fascinated by the world of science fiction, especially the Star Wars universe, and I created this website to share my love for it with fellow fans.

At The Astromech, you can expect to find a variety of articles, reviews, and analysis related to science fiction, including books, movies, TV, and games.
From exploring the latest news and theories to discussing the classics, I aim to provide entertaining and informative content for all fans of the genre.

Whether you are a die-hard Star Trek fan or simply curious about the world of science fiction, The Astromech has something for everyone. So, sit back, relax, and join me on this journey through the stars!
Back to Top