What is the chronological order of the Star Wars films and shows?

Thursday, March 2, 2023
People care about the chronological order of Star Wars for several reasons. One of the main reasons is that the Star Wars franchise has a complex and expansive universe with a rich history, and watching the films in chronological order can provide a more complete understanding of the story and characters.

Watching the movies in order also allows fans to see how the events of the prequel trilogy (Episodes I, II, and III) set the stage for the original trilogy (Episodes IV, V, and VI) and the sequel trilogy (Episodes VII, VIII, and IX). This can help viewers appreciate the world-building and character development that went into the franchise as a whole.

Additionally, watching the movies in order can enhance the viewing experience by revealing hidden connections, Easter eggs, and references that might not be immediately apparent when watching the films out of sequence.

Overall, while it is possible to enjoy the Star Wars movies in any order, watching them in chronological order can provide a deeper understanding and appreciation of the franchise as a whole.

luke hoth concept art

Here's the updated chronological list of all Star Wars movies, television shows, television specials, and cartoon shows. 
  1. Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace (1999, Film) - BBY 32
  2. Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones (2002, Film) - BBY 22
  3. Star Wars: The Clone Wars (2008, Animated Film) - BBY 22-19
  4. Star Wars: The Clone Wars (2008-2014, Television Series) - BBY 22-19
  5. Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith (2005, Film) - BBY 19
  6. Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018, Film) - BBY 13-10
  7. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016, Film) - BBY 0
  8. Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (1977, Film) - BBY 0
  9. The Star Wars Holiday Special (1978, Television Special) - BBY 1
  10. Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back (1980, Film) - BBY 3
  11. Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi (1983, Film) - BBY 4
  12. Star Wars: Ewoks (1985-1986, Television Series) - BBY 3-4
  13. Star Wars: Droids (1985-1986, Television Series) - BBY 15
  14. Caravan of Courage: An Ewok Adventure (1984, Television Movie) - BBY 3
  15. Ewoks: The Battle for Endor (1985, Television Movie) - BBY 3
  16. Star Wars Rebels (2014-2018, Television Series) - BBY 5-1
  17. The Mandalorian (2019-, Television Series) - BBY 9
  18. Star Wars: The Bad Batch (2021-, Television Series) - BBY 19
Powered by Blogger.
Back to Top